Native American Policy Timeline

In 1851, the U.S. started the Concentration policy in an attempt to convince Native Americans to live near each other. This did not work and caused conflict between the U.S. and the Native Americans. In 1887, the Dawes Act was passed, and it urged that Native Americans be assimilated into American society. To accomplish this, the government gave land to individual Native Americans in order to encourage them to separate themselves from living on the reservations. In 1934, a contrasting act was passed called the Indian Reorganization Act. This act encouraged Native Americans to return to tribal life, but it wasn’t as successful as intended thanks to the Dawes Act. In 1953, responsibility for Native Americans was given to the state governments instead of the federal government. This allowed the states to tax Native Americans as well as the federal government.

Native American Policies of the United States

Provided by: Mometrix Test Preparation

Last updated: 03/26/2018


Mometrix Test Preparation - Chasing your dreams requires the right tools. Find your test
Follow us


Mometrix eLibrary