What Are the 13 Colonies?

The 13 colonies are the original colonies of America established by Great Britain. They each had their own systems of government, but each was subject to the British government. Though the colonies were governed by Great Britain, they were not allowed to be involved in the law-making process for the colonies, and taxation skyrocketed. This taxation without representation eventually led to the American Revolutionary War, which started in 1775, and the signing of the Declaration of Independence, which occurred in 1776. The 13 colonies included the following: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.


Provided by: Mometrix Test Preparation

Last updated: 04/09/2018


Mometrix Test Preparation - Chasing your dreams requires the right tools. Find your test


Mometrix eLibrary