What is an Autocratic Government?

Autocratic Government

Autocratic Government

Autocratic governments are when one person has supreme authority over that nation. Muammar Gaddafi and Adolf Hitler are great examples of autocratic leaders. There are about four main types of autocratic governments, so I want to briefly take a look at all of those.

The first is autocracy, this is supreme authority by one person over a country, with limited checks and balances on their authority. Despotism is rule by a single entity. This could be one person, or in the case of an oligarchy, it could be several people, all with unchecked authority.

Despotism is generally regarded as more harsh on its citizens than autocracy. It’s been said that despotism needs slaves of its citizens, while autocracy only needs servants of its citizens. A dictatorship, again, is supreme authority and rule by one person.

Sometimes this person comes to power peacefully through the process set up in that government for people to assume leadership positions, and then they forcefully amend the constitution to give themselves supreme authority.

Sometimes someone comes to power by force, and they have a dictatorship from day one. Another type of an autocratic government is fascism. This is, again, when you have a dictator of a country someone with supreme authority, but they greatly promote national pride and patriotism.

They believe that national pride and national identity is more important than personal identity, and they believe that their nation should be united under the mutual love for their country. Those are the four main types of autocratic governments: autocracy, despotism, dictatorship, and fascism.



by Mometrix Test Preparation | Last Updated: January 14, 2021