Lincoln and the Secession of Southern States

In this video, there is discussion of Abraham Lincoln being elected president of the United States and the rapid secession of many Southern States. Abraham Lincoln was elected president in 1860. Lincoln ran on an anti-slavery platform, though he promised to leave it intact where it already existed. South Carolina was the first state to secede from the union. The rest of the deep Southern states soon followed suit (Texas, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, and Louisiana). They named themselves the Confederate States of America with their capital in Montgomery, Alabama. Lincoln sought to maintain control of Southern military bases. When he tried to resupply Ft. Sumter in South Carolina, the fort was fired upon by the Confederates. Lincoln called for help to put down the rebellion, whereupon the rest of the South seceded (Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee). This lead the Confederate States to move their capital to Richmond, Virginia.

The Civil War: Abraham Lincoln and Secession


by Mometrix Test Preparation | Last Updated: January 14, 2021