Revolutionary War

There were five major battles of the Revolutionary War: The Battle of Lexington and Concord (April 1775) is considered the first engagement of the Revolutionary War. The Battle of Bunker Hill (June 1775) was one of the bloodiest of the entire war. Although American troops withdrew, about half of the British army was lost. The colonists proved they could stand against professional British soldiers. In August, Britain declared that the American colonies were officially in a state of rebellion. The first colonial victory occurred in Trenton, New Jersey, when Washington and his troops crossed the Delaware River on Christmas Day, 1776 for a December 26 surprise attack on British and Hessian troops. The Battle of Saratoga effectively ended a plan to separate the New England colonies from their Southern counterparts. The surrender of British general John Burgoyne led to France joining the war as allies of the Americans, and is generally considered a turning point of the war. On October 19, 1781, General Cornwallis surrendered after a defeat in the Battle of Yorktown, ending the Revolutionary War.


Provided by: Mometrix Test Preparation

Last updated: 01/08/2018
Find us on Twitter:


Mometrix eLibrary